A Witch of Another Kind

#witch #fantasyart# #art #drawing #sketch #fashion

Before I get started with posting a new drawing and story, I just have to get an apology out of the way….probably more to myself than you unless you also had expectations about how often I would post.   Anyway if you did have  expectations, I am sorry that I have been a tad absent lately (A TAD??)  How about only posting a couple of times in around six months!  I know!  Really that’s so disgraceful.  Even though I am apologizing, I wish you to know that I lay it entirely at the feet of my recalcitrant inner child, or maybe my rebellious lazy inner teenager.  Anyway the job hasn’t been getting done.  So as the stern disciplinarian that I am …no? …..No,  I didn’t buy it either. You see the problem is exactly that. The inner young one says I don’t wanna sit at the computer ! I want to go play!  And being a pushover, I give in. Well no more.  Times are changing! …..at least I think they are.

"Arelia" Graphite 9" x 12"
“Arelia” Graphite 9″ x 12″

 

A Witch of Another Kind

This is Aurelia. And as you can clearly see she isn’t what you would typically think of as a witch. Girl’s got style.  No old haggy black threads for her. The only concession to witchly fashion that she makes is in her accessorization.  She carries the typical broom, which I will remind you is also her ride.  I’ve heard through the grapevine that she’s been talking to some decorative artisan about bedazzling her broom with rhinestones and maybe a few semi-precious gems.  A bit of gold here and a bit of sterling there.  It will be quite impressive, but I can’t help but wonder how comfortable it will be.  It would not be the first time that fashion got in the way of comfort.  I think you ladies know of what I am speaking.. er writing.

If you are used to seeing witches with ugly old black pointy hats you will notice the exquisite chapeau that Aurelia is sporting.  It’s a lovely lavender hand felted model adorned with exotic bird feathers, silk flowers and black and white striped satin ribbons.  Rumor has it that she has a different hat for every outfit.

Well I could go on and on about the rest of her ensemble but I want to get to the really exciting part which is the fact the other witches are starting to sit up and take notice.   Appointments are being made for manicures and facials.  And very fashionable boutiques that cater exclusively to the witchy set are starting to pop up here and there. And you know what that means?!  When a person starts to feel good about how they look they start to feel and act less crabby.  So for us that means maybe a few less instances of  being turned into toads and worse.  I for one, am very appreciative of Aurelia’s trendsetting style revolution.

Copyright 2014 Ann Gates Fiser All Rights Reserved

5 thoughts on “A Witch of Another Kind

      1. Yes, I agree. Such attention used to be paid to detail, now they are run off as cheaply as possible, unless it’s an oscar dress.

Leave a comment