Among the Lilies

"Among the Lilies" Graphite 9" x 12"
“Among the Lilies” Graphite 9″ x 12″
While out walking today in the woods and meadows near my home,  I came upon a pond that contained an abundance of water lilies in full bloom.  I spied at first what I took to be an incredibly colorful butterfly sitting on a pad.  Without taking my eyes off of it I crept closer and closer to get a better look.  And to my shock realized that this was no ordinary butterfly, in fact it was not a butterfly at all!  For there in broad daylight was a baby fairy on all fours.  It was only then that I noticed that the woods had grown deadly quiet, with not even a breath of air stirring and rustling the leaves of trees.   I felt as if I had eyes boring into my back, and the energy in the air was extremely tense.   I immediately looked around to see who or what was there and saw nothing.  When I turned back the little fairy was gone and the normal sounds of the forest had resumed.  Although I was disappointed not to be able to observe this bit of magic any longer I also felt blessed to even have had that brief glimpse.

Copyright 2013 Ann Gates Fiser All Rights Reserved

 

8 thoughts on “Among the Lilies

      1. Glad to have seen what you wanted. Always a leap of faith to make a comment. Love to see your sketches. Any more paintings coming?

      2. Yes I’m just about through painting a new one. It’s part of my flower fairies I’m doing for a calendar. There are others that are in the queue as well. I’ve not had much time to paint lately. I started painting some little end tables that I bought at a thrift store. They’re turning out very cool, bit in the process I realized I really don’t want to spend time doing hand painted furniture. I noticed dragging my heels on the project. Time to hang up that hat. I’ll sell these and then that is all on that. I’ve also had to stop and handle real life issues. And I’m freshening up my website and hope to get that launched in the next week or so. Lots going on. stay tuned! LOL

    1. Thank you! That’s the plan. I’m not sure yet when though. Probably soon. I have so many things that I wast to paint so it’s hard to decide which goes first, It might get moved up the line though. I like it too.

Leave a Reply

