Ignoring the Beauty and Mystery

Ignoring-the-Beauty-and-Mystery
“Ignoring the Beauty and Mystery” (AKA Familiarity Breeds Contempt) Graphite 9″ x 12″

Have you ever noticed that no matter how beautiful or exotic your surroundings are, after a while unless you try very heard you begin to not notice.  Everything becomes common place and mundane.  One of the things I love about going away for a couple of weeks is that when I come back to the incredible beauty of the Pacific NW, it knocks my socks off all over again.  And I find myself in utter gratitude that I get to live here.

I drew this sketch as a reminder to myself to stop and really see with fresh eyes where I am and what’s around me.  In the drawing the mermaid is totally oblivious to all the wonder, mystery and beauty of the ocean floor around her.  The colorful and really exotic fish (with a little help from me), the vividly colorful plants (or least they will be when I paint them) go unnoticed.   She is utterly bored. She needs a vacation so she can see what I see.

What in your life are you ignoring, failing to see?

Copyright 2013 All rights reserved Ann Gates Fiser

#fantasy art#art#drawing#sketch#mermaid

Leave a Reply

