“Penelope”

I was watching a re-run of the Hercules show, the one with Kevin Sorbo, and this old man came on the TV. I loved his eyes. Loved the crinkly wrinkles around them. So I ran and got my sketchbook and started to draw him. Unfortunately he was only on the screen for a few minutes and then gone. So I continued to draw and he turned into an old woman (I don’t know why, it just happens…). She then became a witch and I started to wonder why was she so sad? Yeah I know what you’re probably saying, “You drew her that way dummy!”. But artists have as little control sometimes over their subjects as writers do over characters. They just write or draw themselves that way. I digress. So I asked  the old woman why she was sad and the answer that came was because she loved children. Oh take that smirky look off your face. She didn’t love eating them. She wasn’t that kind of witch. She loved to be around them. The problem was that they too thought that she would eat them and so they always ran away. Too bad for them because she would have given them gingerbread, cookies, and milk and told them wonderful stories about her childhood adventures as a witch.

“Penelope” Graphite 9″ x 12″
Leave a Reply

