No New Year’s Resolutions!

I have made up my mind not to do New Year’s resolutions this year. I have so much baggage attached to the whole process that it is doomed to failure, mostly because I believe it will fail.  The problem is also, I believe, that NY’s resolutions are  incomplete outlines of what you want.  As I was trying to fall asleep last night I was thinking about the problem of New Year’s resolutions and had one of those aha! moments.  No resolutions for me.  I would write a business plan for my life. The business of being Ann Gates Fiser Inc.  What does AGF Inc. want to accomplish this year?

The first stumbling block was that I didn’t have the slightest idea about how to go about writing a business plan. So I found a non profit website that guides you through the whole process. I started reading and quickly realized that I should be writing a real business plan for my business. So what was supposed to be a simple solution for resolutions has turned into a way bigger job.  But I digress.  As far as my personal life goes the principal is the same. I need to write a plan, with detailed steps on how I plan to get there.  To whom I’ll turn for support, what things I will put in place to get me there.  What my stumbling blocks might be and what contingency plans I have for dealing with likely obstacles. Etc.

So one of my steps is to say to you that I will produce a quarterly report on this blog as to how I am succeeding.  If I don’t you have my permission to bug me until I do. And if it’s not working I’ll be honest and say so. So there. That’s my solution for New Year’s Resolutions.

Happy New Year!  May this be a wonderful, peaceful and prosperous year for all.

Leave a Reply

