An Elvish Christmas

For my Christmas card this year I wanted to paint two elves sitting together at the end of the day on Christmas Eve enjoying tea and Christmas cookies. All their hard work is done and Santa has left in his sleigh. I borrowed a couple of photos (my son Josh took at the Fairy Worlds Festival this past August) that served as the inspiration for my elves. The child is the same in each photo.

On the first photo I dropped the hands away from the face and placed her on a footstool and changed her costume. On the second I changed the angle that she was looking down and placed a tea cup and a cookie in the hands. Added legs and made her sit. (By the way isn’t Josh a fabulous photographer!)

I made my preliminary sketch:

Then I scanned it and took it into Photo Shop. Using the brush tool I painted crudely painted in large blocks of color to get a sense of what I was getting. I discovered that the composition wasn’t working the way I wanted so I moved some things around and added another ornament. I would also end up painting some of the colors differently.

I scanned it and in Photo Shop added the type. And since I’ve done that I’ve continued to add a few washes to the deep green background to darken it and also added some more color to the floor and the shadows. Why? I just wanted to make the elves pop a little more and a add a little more drama with the contrast.

That’s all for now. Merry Christmas! Blessing to your household!
Ann

Leave a Reply

